A-Z

Nicola - Interview 13

Age at interview: 19
Brief Outline: Nicola is currently at a college for further education and will start working at the local hospital radio station when she finishes her course.
Background: Nicola lives with her parents and was diagnosed with autism when she was 6 years old. Ethnic background/nationality: White British

More about me...

Nicola, 19, was diagnosed with autism when she was six years old. Nicola is currently at a college of further education. She has a lot of potential and when she finishes her college course, will begin a job at the local hospital radio station. She has passed her GCSE’s, won a national art competition and loves music and Chelsea football club.

 

Nicola talks about the music she likes and how she loves Disney films.

SHOW TEXT VERSION
PRINT TRANSCRIPT
Nicola' Oh my hobbies. I love music. It is one of the big things and I love drawing. Whether it is just a little bit of paper I just love to draw.

And what sort of music do you like?

Nicola' Oh don’t ask me that!
Mother' You will be here until tomorrow.
Nicola' I love everything whether it is soundtracks like from movies. A bit of sixties, seventies, mainly it is eighties and todays.
Mother' And films I guess.
Nicola' Oh yes. I love films. I admit I love Disney. My best feature.
Mother' And you like a good book.
Nicola' I love reading. I will read anything [giggle].
Mother' She likes topical stuff though don’t you; a celebrity in the news and all that sort of thing.
Nicola' Yes I don’t read…. I do have a lot of children’s books but mainly some of them are very old that I can’t throw away.
Previous Page
Next Page