Here, you can find any of the interviews on this site.


Bella developed achiness and leg pain in her ankles, hips and knees after having Covid in January 2022. She became unable to walk due to the pain and weakness in her legs. Tests have not shown any cause for her…

  • Background

    Bella is 10-years old and lives with her mum, dad, and younger sister (aged 8). Ethnic background: Mixed race- White British, Japanese, Italian, Brazilian.

  • Age at interview 10
  • Sex/Gender Female
  • Emma A

    Emma’s elder daughter developed leg pain (in her hips, knees, and ankles) a couple of weeks after having Covid in January 2022. Tests have not shown any cause for her pain, but Emma believes it may be due to reactive…

  • Background

    Emma is a part-time lecturer, married, with two daughters aged 8 and 10. Ethnicity: White British.

  • Age at interview 42
  • Daisy

    Daisy caught Covid in September 2021 at school and after a couple of weeks developed severe stomach cramps. Daisy’s stomach pain, which they noticed was made worse after eating, has been helped by a restrictive diet. They have had limited…

  • Background

    Daisy is 14 and lives with her mum, dad and three dogs. Ethnicity: White British.

  • Age at interview 14
  • Christian

    Christian described his symptoms as “incredibly mild” when he caught Covid in March 2020. As time went by he became less and less “capable and able” and by the summer he had breathlessness and fatigue. An antibody test in June…

  • Background

    Christian is married with a 16-month year old daughter. He was working as a primary school teacher in March 2020 when he caught Covid.

  • Age at interview 28
  • Deidre

    Deidre’s daughter caught Covid in November 2021. She lost her sense of taste and smell throughout her Covid infection and found eating difficult – her sense of taste and smell has still not returned four months on, and she has…

  • Background

    Deidre is married with 6 children aged 23, 21, 19, 10, 9 and 5. Deidre is a child minder who runs her own business with three staff, and her husband...

  • Francesca

    Francesca’s daughter caught Covid for the first time in May 2021. Her daughter had mild symptoms, but she complained that food tasted bad. The changes to her taste have persisted and only recently started to improve. Francesca’s daughter was reinfected…

  • Background

    Francesca works in education and her husband is an actor. They have a six-year-old daughter. Ethnicity: White British.

  • Age at interview 47
  • Gracie

    In July 2020, Gracie developed smell and taste changes. She went on to develop many more debilitating symptoms over the next few months and has been diagnosed with PoTS (Postural Tachycardia Syndrome -an abnormal increase in heart rate that occurs…

  • Background

    Gracie is 11 and lives with her mum and dad, older brother (aged 25) and younger brother (aged 9). Ethnicity: White British.

  • Age at interview 11
  • Paul

    Paul caught Covid at the end of March 2020 and two years on is still suffering ongoing symptoms, with limited mobility, muscle fasciculation, extreme fatigue, brain fog and post-exertional malaise (PEM) (the worsening of symptoms following even minor physical or…

  • Background

    Paul is a senior manager at a university and lives with his wife and 10-year-old daughter. Ethnic background: White British.

  • Age at interview 46
  • Michelle

    In March 2020 Michelle and her family caught Covid on a cruise ship off Australia where 30 people died after catching Covid. Michelle and her son were both very ill with Covid once they returned to the UK; however, her…

  • Background

    Michelle and her wife (Lindsey) were both teachers who have a young son who was two at the start of the pandemic (now 4). Michelle has three older boys from...

  • Age at interview 50
  • Ben

    Ben caught Covid for the first time in the summer of 2020. He caught Covid for the second time in December 2020 from school just before the Christmas holidays. He was diagnosed with Long Covid in September 2021. Ben has…

  • Background

    Ben is 14 and lives with his mum and dad and two younger brothers aged 9 and 11 – his mum also has Long Covid.

  • Age at interview 14