Clinical trials & medical research (young people)


Lesley Powell

Lesley is a Chartered Psychologist with a PhD in Health Psychology (2003) and joined the Health Experiences Research Group in January 2010. 

Advisory Panel

Iain Chalmers (Chair)
Editor, James Lind Library 
Jhon Bateman
Young person representative  
Peter Brocklehurst
Director, National Perinatal Epidemiology Unit, University of Oxford
Leonie Connolly
Young person representative 
Hugh Davies
Consultant Paediatrician, Research Ethics Advisor at the National Research Ethics Service 
Mary Dixon-Woods
Professor of Medical Sociology, University of Leicester 
Amanda Hall
Lecturer & Clinical Scientist, Bristol Royal Hospital for Children 
Anthony Harnden
Lecturer in General Practice and Head, Clinical Trials Unit, University of Oxford 
Sophie Longton
Young person representative 
William van’t Hoff
Consultant Paediatric Nephrologist & Co-Director of the NIHR Medicines for Children Research Network 
Jenny Newman
Consumer Liaison Officer, Medicines for Children Research Network 
Claire Snowdon
Lecturer, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, University of London  
Natalie King
Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation 
Kate Bratt-Farrar
Matthew Thompson
Clinical Scientist, University of Oxford

We would also like to thank the Medicines for Children Research Network, part of the National Institute for Health Research Clinical Research Network for their help in recruiting people for this study. They provide researchers with the practical support they need to make clinical studies happen in the NHS, so that more research takes place across England, and more patients can take part.’

Many thanks to:
All the children and young people who shared their experiences, to the researchers, clinicians, research nurses, charities and other organisations including research and development departments, who helped us recruit parents and to Louise Locock for help with data analysis.
Supported by:
National Institute of Health Research. The views expressed are those of the authors and not necessarily those of the NHS, the NIHR or the Department of Health.

Previous Page